Me again.

basic-dnd

It’s been years since I’ve looked at my old blog, so perhaps it’s time for an update. I was going to delete the whole thing, but thought I may as well hold onto it for the time being, for nostalgia if nothing else. I guess since I started using Facebook there hasn’t really been much point in sharing my ramblings here. When I first started writing I was preparing for my epic journey around Australia and it seemed like the best way to stay in contact with family and friends, at a time when I didn’t even know how often I would have access to email or even a phone at times.

Anyhow,  I’m still living in Japan, older and wiser maybe. I’m basically self-employed now, I teach English in a couple of universities as well as privately. It’s a pretty good living, the hours are good, although a little antisocial and I now work 7 days a week which can be inconvenient sometimes.

The big news is that I’m now a father, we have a little girl called Mei. She is 2 years and 3 months old, and, well, she is absolutely the best thing that has ever happened to us. She has completely turned our lives upside down in the best way possible and she is the happiest little bundle of fun you could ever hope to meet. I could talk about her all day, needless to say she has brought a lot of joy into our lives.

I’d like to take the family back to the UK or Australia soon, but finding work so far has proved far more complicated than I expected. Moving around was far easier when I was young free and single.

What other news, well unsurprisingly because of time I’m less into video games these days, although I still manage to make my way though a few a year. Still manage a few books and comics and over the last few years I’ve amassed a great jazz and progressive rock collection (it must be an age thing).

Recently I’ve returned to a hobby that I loved as a teenager, tabletop roleplaying games. I meet up with a group here in Takasaki about twice a month and we play Dungeons & Dragons. It’s funny to think that I was playing 1st edition and have skipped straight to 5th about 25 years later (I was playing before some of the other players in my group were born I think). We have a lot of fun, I’ve also played a fair amount online using the excellent Roll20 app.

Planning a return trip to Australia in the near future, can’t wait 🙂

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

