Point and Click

Ok, so I’ve been playing a lot of games recently from retro classics like Another World (which I remembered as being far more fun than it actually is) to modern classics like The Sword of Fargoal, a rebooted classic which is far more fun than it should be.

But by far the best gaming discovery I have made lately is ScummVm , an emulator for PC/OSX which allows you to play all the old classic point an click adventures. Most of the games are at least 20 years old so are not everyone’s cup of tea, but there are some real classics out there. The graphics are not great compared to modern games (although the animations can be superb) but they easily make up for this with great atmosphere and interesting and often humorous story lines.

So far I have played though Beneath a Steel Sky, Simon the Sorcerer, I have no mouth and I must scream and Full Throttle and currently I’m working my way though Broken Sword which is by far the best so far.

There are quite a few I would like to try as I was probably too young to appreciate them the first time round. I might blog some short reviews as I play though.

These games because of their age are generally categorised as abandonware, this means that they are often available for free on a number of websites because modern computer systems can’t support them and they are no longer commercially available. It’s a bit of a grey area but the software houses and original creators don’t seem to be making of a fuss about it.

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

