Adventure Games and Interactive Fiction

I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for the 1980’s choose your own adventure books and computer text adventure games such as Colossal Cave Adventure and Zork (although I never got very far with them). Recently I watched a great documentary called “Get Lamp”. I was surprised to learn that text adventures or interactive fiction is going strong. Whilst I am not ready to tackle something as challenging as Zork there is a lot of great Interactive Fiction available at the Interactive Fiction Database IFDB to play on-line, even better there is a great app called Frotz which allows you to play them on your iPhone / iPad.

There are also a few choose your own adventure books for the iPhone/iPad, I’ve just finished ‘An Assassin in Orlandes’ by Tin Man Games which as much as I hate to admit was 10x better than the old books.

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

