I’m a Mac man.

It’s been a little while since my last blog, so what’s been happening…. well, I finally took the plunge and bought a new iMac. I had been considering a new computer for a while, and after working on a laptop for the last three years I fancied a change. I already owned an iPhone, iPod and iPad and was happy with all of them so Apple was at the top of my list. I was a bit worried about the change from a PC to Mac but as it turned out there was nothing really to worry about. All the photos and videos I had on my PC were easy to transfer across and there is a lot of open source software that lets me read all the old MS documents that I have floating around. The only big change for me was finding something to replace Microsoft Outlook for my calendar and email. In the end I went with Thunderbird from Mozilla which syncs well with my Gmail calender (but not the Hotmail calendar quite so well).
So I’m all up and running and it was a great opportunity for a bit of a spring clean……. well kind of, I still have about 11 years worth of digital photos to go though.
Oh, another great thing, I love a bit of retro gaming from time to time so it was cool to discover that the Mac has just as many good emulators as the PC…. allowing me to play one of my favorite old titles, Llamasoft’s Ancipital (see photo).

Ancipital running on my Imac

Ancipital, one of the great C64 games of the 80's

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

