I know why my ‘F’ and ‘J’ keys have tabs!!

It’s kind of occurred to me that it might be advantageous to learn to type before November, although I don’t need to look at the keyboard these days I have been applying pretty much the same 2 finger method since 1982 when my friend was given a ZX81 for his birthday and we sat in his room typing in basic programs from magazines. Of course back then it was considered a bit girly to learn to type, real men only needing 2 fingers (and in the case of the ZX81 strong ones at that).

28 years have passed since, almost every day of which I have used a keyboard and I still prod at them like a chimp …… I found this rather cool free program on the internet today,

Stamina Typing Tutor

it’s called Stamina Typing Tutor it’s a little oddball to say the least but it seems to work well, I’m going to give a go for a couple of weeks and will let you know how I get on. Of course the other advantage to this program is that it can be run directly from memory stick allowing me to use it at work and I think you all probably know by now how I feel about having to study or do anything in my precious spare time.

Can you type better than a Chimpanzee? If so how did you learn?

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

