Ghost Story

I now have a pretty good idea that I am going to write a ghost story for the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November.

Something a bit supernatural could be fun and this week ideas have just been continuously jumping out at me (and definitely not with a BOO). I’ve been busily jotting everything down, and making a few chapter plans. Planning doesn’t go against the rules of the competition and I’m going to need some good ones to keep me going for 50,000 words.

I’m still hoping some of you will join me, details can be found here: http://www.nanowrimo.org/

I’m going to be using a great piece of software that uses something called the Google document cloud. It’s called My Writing Spot http://www.mywritingnook.com/ it also has apps for the iPhone and iPad. I’ve been trying out the iPhone app over the last few days and it works brilliantly. Best of all it’s web based so it can be used on any PC with an internet connection ….. so writing while at work is not out of the question. In fact I’ve always found it very enjoyable and satisfying to undertake my own hobbies during work time.

Another great bit of free software for windows that I came across is called yWriter http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter.html it looks like it could be great for tracking elements of the story and putting it all together as a final draft editing tool.

It’s still going to be a huge challenge even with the best tools in the world, I’m even considering trying to learn how to type properly. It’s going to be fun, almost a shame the competition doesn’t start until November.

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

