Decisions, decisions

Please read the text below the Poll first.

I’ve been thinking long and hard recently about where to settle down permanently. I had always thought that we would one day return to the UK but well to tell the truth recently I’ve been having second thoughts. Don’t get me wrong I still love the country and very much consider myself a Radio 4 listening, Fish and Chips loving Englishman. But what with unemployment, overcrowding, high property prices, poor heath service, poor education services, crime, expensive fuel, food ….. etc.. etc.. and the bad weather the UK is becoming increasingly less attractive. I know there are some beautiful (and very expensive) areas but finding employment close by is never going to be easy.
I’ve asked my missus of course what her thoughts are but she (rather unhelpfully I thought) has told me that she is happy with what ever I decide, although she doesn’t really want to have to start again in a completely new country.

So it looks like Canada is out of the equation.

That practically leaves us with 4 options; Japan, England, Australia, Tasmania or New Zealand.

Looking at the Quality of living index: http://www1.internationalliving.com/qofl2010/

The ranks are: Australia/Tasmania #2, New Zealand #5, The United Kingdom #25 and Japan #36.

I did enjoy living in Australia but it of course it wasn’t entirely without its problems.

The only downside to Australia, Tasmania and New Zealand as far as I can see is that they are isolated and I might miss my friends and family, things that I might just have to learn to live with.

Of course the missus would be happy to stay in Japan, but for me the language barrier is a problem if I want to find a good job. Also you know, I love the sea and would like to get a boat again in the next few years time which is kind of difficult here.

The top of my list at the moment are Tasmania and New Zealand.
and perhaps between the two New Zealand has a better climate.

Of course there is no rush to move and I am enjoying life in Japan. But eventually we would like to find a nice place to live where we can finally invest in some furniture that isn’t second-hand and spend the rest of our lives in peace and security.

Perhaps it is time to start to look around for jobs.

What are your thoughts?

About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decisions, decisions

  1. Andrew says:

    Yuko is starting to think that NZ might be a good idea. I will keep the survey up for another week or so.

  2. Tyler says:

    Andy, I totally understand your thoughts here, as I have a lot of them myself. I have not voted – since it somehow feels wrong to influence such a big decision. Even though I know you are probably moreso curious and would not let it overly influence yourself and Yuko. Instead I send you lots of good positive thoughts and hope at some point you will know where it is you want to be.

Leave a Reply

