Fraser Island and Whitsundays

Finally arrived at the Whitsunday’s which has to be the sailing capital of Australia. Hoping to get some sailing in while I am here but want to avoid the booze cruises so might have to find a private boat that will take me. The Journey here from Fraser was a pretty epic almost 800km and sadly we had to miss out on the 1770 beach although did stop at Bundaburg to try some to the rum, Bundaburg is a big sugar cane growing area. Fraser Island was absolutely beautiful and we spent 4 days there, the driving was pretty tough at times because the sand was so soft because of lack of rain, I had to let the tyres down to just under 20 psi to get though some bits..we rescued 2 other drivers and a Korean girl who was drowning in Lake Makensie. Lake Makensie was definately the most beatiful part of the Island and we spent most of a day just messing about in the water and MArk trying to teach the Korean and her friend from Thailand to swim while keeping their heads above water. The beaches were also beatiful but if the stingers didn’t put you off swimming rumours of Maneating sharks do. The Island is covered for the most part by rainforest where we camped which is crisscrossed with 4×4 tracks and a load of hired 4wds driving very poorly indeed…ok so I guess being in my own car meant I didn’t want to risk damaging it, but we still had plenty of fun. The only downside were the fly which were abut as big as the top part of my thumb and were very persistant, if they bit you the draw blood so you kind of build up a disslike of them very quickly. Other than that I stood in an ants nest one night in the dark which was very nasty, ants bite hard here and it hurts! Next stop is Townsville and I will have done a complete circuit of Oz so will be heading for the centre from there. 
About Andrew

I'm an English teacher living in Japan, 7 years and counting.
This entry was posted in Australia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fraser Island and Whitsundays

  1. Adam says:

    Just came across your space by chance (the title is good) attracted me lol,  anyway interesting reading.  Really must goto ozz, my brother did the whole Hong kong -Australia- New Zealand trip a few years back wish i had come along, ill keep looking on here anyway as u update it 😀 cheers
     
    Adam

  2. holy-potatoes-jim says:

    the title of ur space also attracted mei can\’t wait until im old enough to go travelling like that, just 4 more yrs! woo!ne hoo it sounds really funbecca\\m/

  3. Carin says:

    Hey, great Space… Here\’s a quote for your list, if you like –
    I might not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be – Douglas Adams
    Can\’t believe there\’s one other person in the Universe that has seen The Princess Bride!!
    😉

  4. Andrew says:

    Hey cool, I didn\’t know anyone was really paying much attension to my little Blog and I was wondering the other day why I  kept writing it. But this travelling lark isn\’t all fun and games, I think about friends and familly a lot  lately – I guess the best thing about travelling is realising just how important the people in my life are to me. You also of course very quickly realise just how little material things are worth in the grand scheme of things. I started travelling quite late in life and didn\’t really expect it to change me, but strangely and very gradually I find I that in some way that I am more at peace with myself and open emotionally than I have ever been before.  Its just such a shame that travelling has not improved my spelling.  If anyone wants to travel they should and not let anything stand in their way – oh and try to step off the beaten path every now and then, and that goes for anything in life I guess..

Leave a Reply

